Smith Brothers Restaurants
HomeCity NewsLocal Man Receives Public Service Award

Local Man Receives Public Service Award

First published in the May 19 print issue of the Pasadena Outlook.

Pasadena resident Gilbert Mares recently received a the Will G. Farrell Public Service Award during an event hosted by NAIFA-Los Angeles (National Association of Insurance and Financial Advisors) and FSP-Los Angeles/Pasadena (Society of Financial Service Professionals).
Presented annually for the past 69 years, the award is given to an insurance industry veteran who has demonstrated both excellence in the insurance industry and excellence in community service.
Mares began his insurance career in 1975 after having been an aide to the chair of the White House Cabinet Committee on Opportunities for Spanish Speaking People, an examiner for the Los Angeles Unified School District, and the community director for management training with the Hispanic Coalition of Los Angeles County.
Mares has served NAIFA-Los Angeles in various capacities, including president, chair of the government relations committee and chair of the political involvement committee.
He is currently president of the Pasadena Police Foundation and the current California legislative chair for the American Legion/Sons of the American Legion. He is past president of the Los Angeles Host Lions Club, where he received the Melvin Jones Award. He is also past vice president of the Lions Sight and Hearing Foundation as well as the Lark Ellen Charities in the San Gabriel Valley. He has been involved with the Boy Scouts and is currently involved, with his wife, Carol, in the Pasadena Lions Club.
Other winners that day were Leticia Anguiano of Strategic Choices Financial, who received the Agent of the Year Award, and the Quality Award honors went to George Geldin and Jose Rodriguez Jr., who received Health and Employee Benefits Awards, and Tom Michel, who received the Life and Annuities Award.
Lynne Rosenberg of Innovative Solutions accepted her permanent trophy for being the 2021 recipient of the Will G. Farrell Award.

Most Popular

[bsa_pro_ad_space id=3]