High Point Students Shine at 8th-Grade Promotion

The High Point Academy 8th-grade Class of 2022 includes Elianá Gonzalez (front, from left), Carissa Choi, Meridith Southard and Diya Kaushik. Second row: Interim Head of School Kristin Haines, Chloe Tran, Jettrin Bell, Aurix Hong, Ryan Le, Eric Yang, Katherine Clark and Junior High Co-Director Colleen Zeiss. Third row: Seventh grade Dean Gint Valiulis, Armen Balikkyan-Bekian, James Wang, Jackson Storti, Caden McMullin, Benjamin Mozilo and Alex Jalakian. Fourth row: Francesca Gomez-Novy, Ella Husain, Cory Lai, Qifeng Jerry Sun, Elliott Smith, Emma Nalick and Margaux Bermudez. Fifth row: William Zhao, Lucas Kirages, Benjamin Andrade, Jacob Chow, Edward Miller, Sebastian Husain, Jiaze Lu and Ethan Lee Catindig.

First published in the June 16 print issue of the Pasadena Outlook.

Photos by Sebastian Moore
The Outlook


The High Point Academy sent off its class of 31 8th-graders during the school’s promotion ceremony on Friday, June 10.
“This event is a culmination of nine years of hard work and love and inspiration,” Interim Head of School Kristin Haines said. “Our students and parents and community have worked together to help these children flourish for the next part of their lives.”
Cory Lai opened the ceremony with the pledge of allegiance, followed by a welcome address by Haines. Carissa Choi introduced the students, Aurix Hong presented the student council, and Lai and Hong presented students with the school yearbook.
Francesca Gomez-Novy gave the 8th-grade message, followed by Alex Jalakian’s presentation of the class gift to charity.
Haines presented awards and recognitions, Elianá Gonzalez and Katherine Clark recognized the faculty and staff, and Haines and the graduating Class of 2022 recognized parents prior to the presentation of certificates by Haines and Junior High Co-Director Colleen Zeiss. Haines presented the graduating class before the recessional began.
“We’ve risen above the obstacles and challenges of our day,” Haines said. “We have come together, as a community, to ensure these proud [students] receive the recognition and support they deserve.”